The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools has announced the six recipients of the 2018 Golden Apple Teacher Award. 

They are Matthew Bourbina, Fort Myers High School; Dr. Patrick Hanrahan, Ida S. Baker High School; Samantha Hutchinson, Island Coast High School; Esteban Jaramillo, Mariner High School; Brooke Przespolewski, Gulf Elementary School; and Maria Rose, Edison Park Creative & Expressive Arts School.

The Golden Apple Recipients are chosen after going through an extensive selection process that began in September with a communitywide invitation to nominate teachers from The School District of Lee County. The six finalists were selected after completing a three-step process, which included a blind comprehensive application, observations in their classroom of their teaching style and skill, and personal interviews with the Golden Apple Selection Committee. 

The Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program was the first major project funded and developed by The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools, Inc.

Recipients of the Golden Apple Teacher Award will be honored at a black-tie affair held at 5:30 p.m. on April 6 at the Hyatt Regency at Coconut Point. The banquet will be broadcasted via NBC2 at 7 p.m.on April 8.

Tickets for the Golden Apple Banquet can be purchased for $160 per person by contacting the Foundation office at (239) 337-0433.